What is Endorphin Running and Training Company?

It’s a running & training company!

Ok, in all seriousness, it’s a business venture inspired by passion instead of grinding daily reliability. I’ve been daydreaming for a while (like… years) about preventative rather than reactive healthcare. I also love working out. In fact, exercise and competition is one of my most consistent pursuits. Since age 5 I’ve played soccer, softball, basketball, and tennis; I’ve been a competitive gymnast, hurdler, pole-vaulter, jumper, and runner; I’ve done dance and diving. I’m always happier with a sport in my life, and 90% of the time it’s been therapeutic.

I also have experience (a lot of it) with the inherent challenges of sport. I’m familiar with injury and neurosis, depression, anxiety, overuse, overtraining, musculoskeletal imbalances, amenorrhea, and deficiency. In fact, in my own unorthodox way, I’m an expert. My experiences make me compassionate and supportive, as well as competitive and ambitious. I believe in listening to the body, and gently exploring its limits to become fitter, faster, stronger.  This is why I’m putting out my shingle as a running coach. Online, in person, over the phone — we’ll make it work because getting people addicted to endorphins is my modus operandi.

Runners aside, there’s another population close to my heart. As a nurse, I’ve taken care of a lot of older adults who have deteriorated tragically — often fatally — after a fall. It’s incredible how fast the mind falls apart when the body fails! It’s devastating what post-operative infection can do to the elderly. In fact, it’s pretty damn distressing not to be able to just put your pants on by yourself! 

Thanks to nursing, I am quite realistic about older adults’ capacity for exercise. While HIIT and crossfit are all the rage in the gyms, this population needs to focus on balance and stability. They need range-of-motion and flexibility. They require gentle resistance that won’t snap or crush osteoporotic bone. Most importantly, they need to keep moving, breathing, engaging and interacting, realizing goals, and feeling strong. Grandmas and grandpas desperate to stay out of the nursing home: I am here for you.

Endorphin Running & Training isn’t even a baby yet. It’s prenatal, and is going to require a lot of time and resources to bring into the world. Based out of Fort Collins, Colorado, coaching services for runners will be available online and face-to-face. In-person fitness/stability/mobility training for older adults will be available within 25 miles of Fort Collins.

That’s the plan, man! We’re moving to FoCo in August, and I’m so excited to watch this project grow. Let me know if you or anyone you know might be interested! 

Leave a Reply

